For professionally trained adults with shooting experience, obtaining a permit to carry a concealed weapon (CCW) is possible in Nevada. Keeping you and your loved ones safe with a CCW is definitely something you can train for and do responsibly. If you meet all the requirements and qualifications, a person can legally carry a concealed handgun in most places in the state.
If you’re interested in applying for a CCW permit, here’s a deeper dive into what the Nevada requirements are and how a professional firearm safety course in Las Vegas can help.
What Defines a Concealed Firearm in Nevada?
According to Nevada state law, the definition of a concealed firearm  is a loaded or unloaded handgun carried upon a person in such a manner as not to be discernible by ordinary observation. To put it simply, it’s when somebody legally has a handgun on them, but it’s not out in the open or obvious.
Examples of this could be a handgun hidden in a person’s backpack, purse, or under an article of clothing. However, the keyword here is “legally” carrying the weapon. If you do not have a concealed carry permit, it is a felony to carry a concealed firearm in Nevada. Don’t make the mistake of carrying your handgun without a permit when the consequences could be serious, and in more ways than one.
What Are the Requirements for a CCW Permit?
If you’re ready to apply for a CCW permit, make sure you look at all the requirements first to see if you qualify. The minimum requirements to obtain a concealed carry permit in Nevada include the following:
- You must be at least 21 years old, or 18 if in the US military
- You have not been legally prohibited from owning a firearm
- You have completed a firearm safety course and can present documentation
If you meet these requirements, you can start the application process. Nevada residents can apply for a CCW permit through their nearest sheriff’s office. In Las Vegas, applicants can visit the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department’s website to download the application or find the closest location where they can pick it up.
Because it’s such a heavy responsibility to carry a concealed weapon, it is not taken lightly by Nevada authorities. Keep in mind that the process itself could take up to 120 days before you are either approved or denied. The cost to apply for the permit is about $100 after adding up the Clark County and Federal fees. If you are approved, the permit itself is valid for five years, with a renewal fee of $61.25.
Why Would a CCW Application Be Denied?
There are several reasons why a concealed carry weapon permit would be denied. As you can imagine, a thorough background check and investigation is conducted during the application process. Your fingerprints are sent to the FBI to screen for any criminal history that would disqualify you.
Here are a few reasons why your CCW application would be denied:
- You fail to provide the required documentation
- You are declared mentally incompetent by a judge
- You were admitted to a mental health facility within five years of applying
- You are a habitual user of drugs or alcohol (including medical marijuana)
- You made a false statement on your CCW application
- You were dishonorably discharged from the US Armed Forces
- You are currently on parole or probation
- You were convicted of a crime involving threats or use of violence
- You were convicted of a crime involving domestic violence
- You are subject to a restraining order or other legal order of protection
- You were convicted of a felony
There are other grounds for denial of a CCW permit, but these are some major red flags that will put an immediate stop on your application.
Firearm Safety Course Requirement
Completing a safety course is really the most crucial step in the process of qualifying for a CCW permit. The state wants to make sure you know exactly how to use a handgun, and that a certified shooting instructor is confident in your firearm skills and safety knowledge. You should also feel confident and comfortable using your handgun in order for the instructor to sign off on the completion of your course.
To meet the training requirement in Nevada, you must complete a course offered by any one of these approved organizations:
- Federal agency
- State or local law enforcement agency
- Community college
- Nevada university
- A professional organization that certifies firearm safety instructors
In other words, just because your cousin or that friend-of-a-friend happens to know a lot about guns doesn’t qualify them to teach a safety course! When you apply for a CCW permit, you will need to present official documentation that a certified course was completed.
Nevada CCW Permit Application Process
After you’ve either downloaded or picked up the CCW permit application, here are the steps to completing the process.
1. Fill Out the Application
Complete the CCW permit application, but make sure you do not sign the form yet. You will be instructed to sign the form when turning in the application with your supporting documents.
2. Complete Your Firearms Safety Course
Find an approved carry permit course in Nevada and complete the class. After your instructor signs your certificate, you will need to bring it with you when submitting your application.
3. Submit the Application and Documents
Depending on where you live in Nevada, you’ll need to confirm where to submit your application and required documents. If you live in Clark Country, be sure to bring your unsigned application, firearms course certification, payment of $100, and valid ID to the Fingerprint Bureau of the LVMPD in downtown Las Vegas. Washoe County residents can submit their application at the Washoe County Sheriff’s Office.
4. Wait for a Response
A CCW permit application in Nevada must be processed within 120 days of when it was submitted. Written notification will be sent to you letting you know whether your application was approved or denied.
Concealed Carry Permit Classes at The Range 702
If you’re in Las Vegas and are looking for a professional concealed permit class, the experienced instructors at The Range 702 have you covered. Offering in-depth instruction and hands-on guidance, you’ll learn to shoot from your holster, shoot from the hip, shoot on the move, shoot from different distances, and shoot with your dominant hand and your supported non-dominant hand.
To learn more about our CCW permit class and how you can register, contact The Range 702 team today! The 8-hour course is also great for groups and team-building if you have friends or co-workers who would like to join.